Once you delete a Custom Field, it will disappear from its associated Item detail views. Association between field and Items will also end in all projects.
If Custom Field is associated with more than one project, you can dissociate it from only one project. In this way, the field will remain intact for other Projects. To dissociate the Custom Field, follow the points below.
- Uncheck project name in “Visible in Projects” dropdown.
Related: How can I delete Custom Field?